Learning Resource Pages
Great Chalfield Manor has a well documented history.
Completed in 1480, the manor house is enhanced by a moat and gatehouse and has beautiful oriel windows and a great hall. The estate was recorded in the Domesday Book as the property of Ernulf de Hesding, Comte de Perche. The property was owned by various branches of the Percy family until the 16th century. In the Civil War, Chalfield was garrisoned by Parliamentary troops between 1644 - 46 and withstood a short siege. The 1st Duke of Kingston acquired the estate when he married an heiress, but it was sold by his son in 1770. The property remained in the hands of the Neale family until 1878. After which it was acquired by the Fuller family.
Our Learning Resource Pages are dedicated to support all our visitors wider understanding about Great Chalfield.
Please explore (using the menu) our sections on the rich history, ownership and the surrounding areas.
If we have missed any subjects or areas which you feel would serve of great interest to yourself and others, to gain a broader knowledge about Great Chalfield, please email us.